Skip to content
June 20, 2013 / redman59

Technical Analysis says Buy, but Risk Managers Prevail

One of the things that I have loved about technical analysis is that it can be really objective.  Lately it seems that the McClellan Oscillator has gained popularity and it is one indicator that I have liked to use.  Just go to my search box and type in McClellan and you can see that I have written about it many times.  Ever since our first dip below -200 on the McClellan I was anticipating a divergence in the SPX and the McClellan Oscillator.  As shown below we have that now:

SPX_20130620

Previously I have written about McClellan positive divergences with highlights on the chart and can be found below:

McClellan_spx_20120724

What am I saying here?  The hardest thing about trading is anticipating what the fundamental or economic data means in the long run.  This is one reason I like history and I like technical analysis, looking back I can see divergences in the market (via SPX) and the McClellan Oscillator has led to positive returns.

Does this mean the bottom is in; not by any means.  It just tells me as a manager of risk that I would rather leg into longs rather than shorts or just be in cash and let things settle out.  Don’t ever forget that selling can lead to more selling despite what any technical indicator tells you and it is the professionals of risk management that will prevail.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Elizabeth Waite / Jun 21 2013 12:34 am

    Very Nice! I did some buying today….I have been waiting a long time to reload my core positions.

    Sincerely,

    Liz Waite Sent from my iPhone

    • redman59 / Jun 21 2013 2:03 pm

      Thanks for the comment Liz. I’m going to use the weekend to build a watchlist being cautious on allocation. Good luck to you.

  2. Chad / Jul 14 2014 10:47 pm

    It’s hard to find your website in google. I found it on 17 spot, you should build
    quality backlinks , it will help you to get more
    visitors. I know how to help you, just search in google – k2 seo tips

  3. Alannah / Mar 1 2015 8:14 am

    Awesome article. You should use social sites to increase
    traffic. There are tools which automate this
    time consuming process.Visitors can flood your website in no time, just
    type in google for:
    Rixisosa’s Social Automation

Leave a comment